Changing your name

Not sure if this is the right area to post this, but I was just reading all the postings about having a legal ceremony before you go to your destination wedding.

1. What is the actual process of changing your name. I am a teacher and would like to have this done as soon as I can because even though I don't really want to change my name, in the end it is the right thing to do and since I know I will change my name, I wanted to possibly start the new school year out with my new name.

2. If you get legally married in the states before hand, can you then start changing your name right away (okay I know that seems like a stupid question, but would it be weird to start the name change process before you even get married)

Christine - while I think a lot of us are doing the legal stuff before our DW, I think it would be best for you to wait to go thru the name change process until when you get back. Why you ask? Remember that you are travelling internationally, and you need a passport to do that. To keep it simple for yourself, stay with your maiden name until after you return from your wedding & honeymoon. Otherwise, you will need to accomplish all of the legal name change stuff BEFORE you actually leave for your wedding....might be a little pre-mature, right?

Even if your name isn't 100% legally changed by the beginning of the school year, of course you can always ask your students to call you by your married name. They'll never know :)

As soon as you get your new SS card, you employer can change your name in their records. (I think...this is how mine worked at least)

You should be able to file your name change at the school district quickly. When we got back from our honeymoon, I picked up the marriage certificate and went right to the social security office. Then the next day I went to my appointment at DMV.